maloja
Mountain Nomad | Maloja

THE Mountain Nomads

There is a nomad in each of us: we all have a feeling of home somewhere and still we are never sedentary. Because we listen and hear the beckoning call of the mountains.

They call themselves „Imazighen“ – free people. Their life is not determined by walls or man-made borders. Their lives are determined by the expanse of nature. Their belongings travel with them on their way between the Sahara Desert and the mountains of the High Atlas. Nomad tents are their refuge.
To us they are the Mountain Nomads. And they are in us, too.
Because we also are in pursuit of freedom. All of us who live to be in the mountains. We encounter them on bike trails, hiking paths, on climbing routes, on the rocks. This search drives us onwards. It turns us into modern nomads. We settle in where the conditions on the mountain are best. Until we hear the far call of the next mountain, the next peak, the next descent.

We asked our team riders and photographers to relate their nomad stories for this catalogue. They cover thousands of kilometers, travel for more than 200 days a year. The world is their home, they live in a VW bus, tent or under the stars.

Together with us they travelled to Morocco to connect the two worlds that we also would like to connect with our new collection “The Mountain Nomads”: the traditional world of the Moroccan shepherds and the modern world of the mountain nomads of the maloja family.
That’s what our new collection logo stands for: the tent in the mountains as a home away from home, the five-pointed star from the Moroccan flag as a symbol for the country and its people whose fascinating stories, life and culture inspired us to create the new designs.
maloja

maloja
Mountain Nomad | Maloja Cloathing
For instance the Ait Haddidou Berber tribe. The high plains in the Atlas mountains are their home. Traditions were handed down for decades – and remain seemingly untouched by any outside influence. Once a year this tribe and with it the mountain village near Ilmilchil is the center of Morocco.

Their festival Moussem attracts Moroccans from the entire country. For many Moroccan women Moussem is not only the grand meeting of a tribe. It is also a marriage market. They search and select their men. And for this event they adorn themselves with their most beautiful Handira, the traditional cape. We applied the typical Handira stripes to our collection.

Just like the natural colors of Morocco that are produced from spices and plants: soft curcuma orange, or the reddish brown of henna, which we combine with bright colors like the famous blue – Berban indigo.
Mountain Nomad | Maloja Cloathing

DThe colors, the culture and traditions of Morocco are as diverse as the country itself. We travelled to the famous harbour city Agadir on the Atlantic and to the small fishing village Taghazout, a secret surf mecca. We immerged ourselves into the bustle of Marrakech’s central region and stood speechless before the winding clay walls and apartments, the corner towers and pinnacles of Ait-Ben-Haddou at the foot of the High Atlas in the Southeast of Morocco.

We admired the oasis Tinerhir, a green sea in the midst of the barren, impressive rock walls of the Todra Gorge. We experienced a new world in the desert city of Merzouga in the East at the foot of the desert landscape Erg Chebbi, sculpted by winds in the vastness of the Sahara. We were overwhelmed by the hospitality in Bab N’Ali in Pjebel Saghro. And again we were reminded of the strength of nature in the mountains of the High Atlas.

This country of the Berbers between the sea, the desert and the mountains, swallowed us. We returned with thousands of stories and more than 50.000 photographs.
Mountain Nomad | Maloja Cloathing

We experienced a new world between barren rock walls and fertile oases.

Mountain Nomad | Maloja Cloathing
Mountain Nomad | Maloja Cloathing

The colors, the culture and traditions of Morocco are as diverse as the country itself.

maloja
Mountain Nomad | Maloja

THE Mountain Nomads

In jedem von uns steckt ein Nomade: Mit einem festen Lebensmittelpunkt und doch niemals sesshaft. Weil uns die Berge rufen.

Sie nennen sich „Imazighen“ – Freie. Ihr Leben kennt keine Mauern und von Menschen geschaffene Grenzen. Die Weite ist ihr Alltag.
Ihr Hab und Gut reist mit ihnen auf ihrem Weg zwischen der Wüste Sahara und dem Hohen Atlas. Nomadenzelte geben ihnen Zuflucht. Ihre Heimat ist die Natur. Für uns sind sie „The Mountain Nomads“. Wie sie in jedem von uns stecken. Denn auch wir suchen Freiheit. Wir alle, die wir für die Berge leben.
Wir finden sie auf Bike-Trails, Wanderwegen, in Kletterrouten, am Fels. Diese Suche treibt uns an. Sie macht uns zu modernen Nomaden. Sesshaft werden wir dort, wo die Bedingungen in den Bergen am besten sind. Bis die nächsten Berge, Gipfel und Abfahrten rufen. Unsere Teamfahrer und Fotografen erzählen in diesem Katalog ihre Nomaden-Geschichten. Tausende Kilometer legen sie im Jahr zurück, an weit über 200 Tagen. Die Welt ist ihr Zuhause, sie wohnen im VW-Bus, Zelt oder unter freiem Himmel..

Gemeinsam waren sie mit uns in Marokko, um zwei Welten zu verbinden, die wir auch mit unserer Kollektion „The Mountain Nomads“ verbinden wollen: jene der traditionellen Hirtennomaden Marokkos mit der modernen Bergnomaden-Welt der maloja-Familie. Dafür steht auch unser Kollektions-Logo: das Zelt in den Bergen als Zuhause, der Fünfstern aus der marokkanischen Flagge als Symbol für das Land und seine Menschen, deren faszinierende Geschichte, deren Leben und Kultur uns zu unseren neuen Designs inspirierten.
maloja

maloja
Mountain Nomad | Maloja Cloathing
Der Berberstamm der Ait Haddidou zum Beispiel. Seine Heimat sind Hochebenen im Atlasgebirge. Traditionen wurden über Jahrzehnte weitergegeben – und werden, scheinbar unberührt von äußerlichen Einflüssen, gelebt. Einmal im Jahr wird dieser Stamm und mit ihm ein Bergdorf nahe Imilchil zu Marokkos Zentrum.

Denn ihr Fest Moussem zieht Marokkaner aus dem ganzen Land an. Für viele Frauen ist dieser Moussem nicht einfach ein riesiges Treffen eines Volksstammes. Für sie ist dieses Fest der Heiratsmarkt: Sie suchen und wählen ihre Männer. Dazu tragen sie unter anderem ein besonders schönes Exemplar ihrer Handira, des traditionellen Umhangs.

Sein Streifenmuster haben wir in unserer Kollektion aufgegriffen. Ebenso wie die natürlichen Farben Marokkos, die aus Gewürzen und Pflanzen gewonnen werden: Das sanfte Orange von Kurkuma etwa und das rötliche Braun von Henna verbinden wir mit kräftigen Farben wie Indigoblau, dem berühmten Berberblau.
Mountain Nomad | Maloja Cloathing

Die Farben, die Kultur und die Traditionen Marokkos sind so vielfältig wie das Land selbst. Wir reisten in die berühmte Hafenstadt Agadir am Atlantik und das kleine Fischerdorf Taghazout, dem Geheimtipp für Surfer. Wir tauchten ein in das Treiben Marrakeschs im Landesinneren und standen sprachlos vor den verwinkelten Lehmmauern und Wohnungen, den Ecktürmen und Zinnen von Ati-Ben-Haddou am Fuße des Hohen Atlas im Südosten Marokkos.

Wir bewunderten die Oasenstadt Tinerhir, ein grünes Meer inmitten der kargen, imposanten Felswände der Todra-Schlucht. Wir erlebten eine neue Welt im Wüstenort Merzouga im Osten am Fuße der durch Wind geformten Dünenlandschaft Erg Chebbi und in der Weite der Sahara. Wir staunten über die marokkanische Gastfreundschaft im kleinen Ort Bab N’Ali im Pjebel Saghro. Und wir erinnerten uns einmal mehr an die Kraft der Natur in den Bergen des hohen Atlas.

Dieses Land der Berber zwischen Meer, Wüste und Gebirge haben wir aufgesaugt. Mit tausenden Geschichten und weit über 50.000 Fotos sind wir zurückgekommen.
Mountain Nomad | Maloja Cloathing

Wir erlebten eine neue Welt zwischen kargen Felswänden und fruchtbaren Oasen.

Mountain Nomad | Maloja Cloathing
Mountain Nomad | Maloja Cloathing

Die Farben, die Kultur und die Traditionen Marokkos sind so vielfältig wie das Land selbst.